Volvo XC60 gains Japan Car of the Year 2018

A company backed by Nest co-founder Tony Fadell is taking Andy Rubin's startup to court.

Volvo XC60, launched today in the Indian market at an aggressive price of Rs.55.90 Lakhs (Ex. Showroom), has clinched the 2018 Japan Car of the Year award in a nail-biting vote-counting ceremony. The lead changed three times between the Volvo XC60, Toyota Camry and BMW 5-Series, when the Swedish crossover pulled away in the closing moments to poll 294 votes. The XC60 SUV finished some 52 votes clear of the strong finishing 5-Series and 62 ahead of the closest Japanese competitor, Toyota’s Camry.

Accepting the trophy in front of 60 Car of the Year jurors and over 200 manufacturing colleagues, Volvo Japan CEO Takayuki Kimura said, “This is the first time in Japan COTY’s 38-year history that Volvo has won an award. To be honest, I would have been happy with the Import Car of the Year*. But to come away with the overall Japan Car of the Year is completely surprising and sincerely humbling. I dedicate this award to the 100 dealers and 1400 staff across the nation.” Maruti Suzuki Swift finished in 4th place, ahead of the Honda N-Box, Lexus LC, Alfa Romeo Giulia, Mazda CX-5, Citroen C3 and VW Tiguan. In the special award categories, Toyota picked up a hat-trick of trophies; one for Best Innovation for its Prius PHEV while the Lexus LC captured the Emotional Award.

The Prius was celebrating its 20th anniversary since the launch and hence, Toyota picked up the COTY steering committee’s ‘Special Achievement Award’ for the brand’s 10 millionth hybrid sale, a trophy Toyota executive chairman and first-gen Prius chief engineer Takeshi Uchiyamada was proud to receive. The Honda N-Box won the Small Mobility Award for being judged the best vehicle in Japan’s unique 660cc class category. In the second biggest surprise of the day (after the Volvo win), a second Special Achievement Award was presented to racer Takuma Sato for his unforgettable victory in this year’s Indy 500, making him the first Japanese to win the legendary race.